My New Office

For those just stopping by (my friends have heard all about this already), we just converted our dining room to my new office. Now I can have both my writing business and the running-of-the-home stuff in one location. Plus I get lots more natural light, which I’m finding I need the more I am in front of the computer screen.

So here are the pictures. I took some at night and some during the day for a better contrast. My view out my window is very pretty, but, sadly, you can’t see it at night, and when I try to take a picture through the windows, the light is too bright. Not a problem I’m complaining about, btw.

Pictures need to be hung, a bookcase might need to be bought, and I’m still jonesing for that massage chair that we had to cancel the order for a year and a half ago (they kept shipping the wrong one then wanted $600 more to ship the one we ordered. Um… I don’t think so.) I’ve found another one, beige, which will go nicely. Now to get Hubs on board with that suggestion after we just spent umpteen dollars on this… That might take a while. But in the meantime, I’m thoroughly enjoying this cheerful space.

My desk (obviously). See the lamp on the credenza? It’s made of purple glass. I found it at Home Goods years ago and was using it as a salad bowl in my dining room. I plugged the hole with hot glue and it worked like a charm. So when it came time for a lampshade, all I had to do was remove the plug and voila! back to its original purpose. Oh, and if you look really closely, you’ll see my tiara around the base of the glass vase.

Door to the family room

I love this workstation. It’s designed to fit a computer/monitor in the long middle section, but that’s where I’m keeping my paper cutter and promo materials – all in one spot with a handy pull-down work center. Love love love this! It was the last piece to arrive and took me about 4 hours to put together. And it holds that blue glass genie bottle I found at Home Good recently. Love that genie bottle, but it was too bad they didn’t have it in purple.

Vixen enjoying her favorite spot. And Pagan enjoying hers. The chair is part of my dining room set that’s going to go when I sell it, but I’m hoping to put a massage chair here. I may never have to leave the room! (There’s a powder room right next door!)

I love this picture. A princess, a castle, a dragon and a unicorn. Is it me, or what????

I love twinkling lights in trees. I still have the ones in my outside dwarf Alberta spruces that flank my front stoop. And I don’t think I’m taking them down at all. In this tree I have a Christmas ornament my husband gave me. It’s a Disney collectible – Cinderella’s Castle and the coach. Supposedly you plug the attachment into one of the light sockets and the coach goes around the castle, but I have yet to see that work – and I’ve tried many a light socket. Oh well. I also have a mermaid in an oyster shell ornament given to me by my friend, Carla Faker when I sold my Mer trilogy. I need some more commemorative ornaments...

Double doors to the foyer that weren’t here two weeks ago. You can see more lights through the left one. I have two topiaries flanking the front door and, yep, they have twinkling lights in them. I have another silk tree in the foyer by the staircase that also has the lights. These were great when I worked my night job and didn’t get home until 1 am. They were still on so I wasn’t coming home to an entirely dark house.

and, the amethyst glass door knobs. I was so lucky to find a seller who had three pairs available (and those were the only ones I could find, so I’m guessing it was meant to be.)

Don’t forget to come back to visit on Thursday, March 25 for the Rita/Golden Heart Nominee “Squee” Party that I’m hosting on my blog. Third year running. See you then!

18 Responses

  1. What a great spot! I’d make sure you have a lock on the door. The kids can see you in there 🙂

  2. Gorgeous! I’m so jealous; I badly need a writing space to get away from my crew. For now I just put on my Bose headphones–they really do reduce outside noise!–and pretend I can’t see them waving for my attention. Love the trees! You definitely think outside the lines if you’d use a lampshade for a salad bowl and vice versa. So fitting when paired with your mer stories! 🙂 Are your decorating services for hire?

    Great job!!

  3. good idea, John, but then they’d just knock on the glass. I’m thinking blinds might be a good idea.

    Carla, funny you should ask about decorating services. I had actually toyed with that idea a while ago, and did two kids’ rooms for a friend of mine. Money was good but the physical effort? Notsomuch. I really don’t like painting. Or shopping. I’ve just been lucky to come across items that I have on the infrequent forays I make into stores. Right now I’m thinking of bookends and door stops I need. But I’ll wait until after Thursday because, you know, a Rita would make a really good bookend…

  4. Absolutely wonderful, and so very *you*! And I had to laugh about the twinkly lights in the trees. Remind me to turn on mine for you when you stop by! The difference between us? You have the pretty while fairy lights, and I went with the multi-colored blinking ones. LOL!

  5. How about a red light that says “Mom’s working!” Looks like a great nook for the act of creation…I wish you many years of happy productivity.

  6. Your office is a great space to stimulate your muse. Love it! Enjoy!

    Best–Adele

  7. why am I not surprised that both Ken and Kat mentioned colored flashing lights? Yes, Kat, I’ll take you up on that offer.

  8. Wow, Judi! It’s absolutely gorgeous. I’m drooling over that workstation. I adore light-colored woods. And those door knobs are beautiful. I’m officially jealous.

    Congrats on the new office. You totally deserve it. I know how hard you work.

  9. Sweet Judi! Love it. I am so happy for you. And yes, the picture is definitely so you. You definitely need a massage chair :). Enjoy!

  10. Wow! It’s looks marvelous and I am pee green with envy. Best thing about my kitchen “office” is that I put the desk in front of the window and can look outside on days like today and see all the great sunshine I’m missing!

    What a trip to see your great new digs. I covet that work station, my friend. Enjoy! May you write without blocks in such a fabulous space.

  11. It’s gorgeous, Judi. But of all the beautiful pieces, I really love those doorknobs. Fabuous.

    Happy and productive writing to you for years to come.

  12. thanks for sharing the love, folks! Hi Chris!!!

  13. Looks fabulous! And all writers need animal companions, dang it!

  14. What a fab space! Every piece cries out “This is Judi’s place!” It’s perfect I tellya! But the best of all to me is those lovely doorknobs! What a perfect touch for your office.

    May everything you write be blessed with success.

  15. Turned out absolutely gorgeous, Judi! Not that I had any doubts. Enjoy and may it inspire the embroidering of many tales to come.

  16. Oh, it’s lovely, Judi. I love all the open space and the combo of functionality and comfort. Environment that’s lovely is also conducive to letting the imagination roam. Love the doorknobs and the purple shade/light. Very nice *Judi* place.

  17. There’s always love for you my dear. Hope you’re enjoying your office!

  18. Nice job, Judi. Dining rooms are such a waste of space if you’ve got a decent-sized kitchen. All that room and you only use it a couple times a year? No thanks! Nice to see that you put your space to good use. C.

Leave a Reply

