Our Newest Addition

EVEN MORE BREAKING NEWS: Salem’s name has been changed. She is now Pagan.

And my sister got a kitten on the same day. Neither of us knew the other was getting one! So they now have Porter.

BREAKING NEWS:

Darling Husband has caved in come up with the best idea: get the kids (and the dogs) a kitten. Our other cat, Kimba, came to us in the middle of a snowstorm in 2001 and stayed. He was in indoor and an outdoor cat and on June 12, 2008, he made sure to come home to die.

We were all very sad, but how could we ever replace him? He was the perfect cat. And DH, who isn’t exactly a cat lover, tolerated him. Even liked him. And Kimba liked him too.

But another cat wasn’t happening.

Or so we thought.

So, today, with DH’s blessing, kids and I went to the local SPCA and found our new family member:

 Salem in her favorite spot

 

 

Salem. She’s two and half months old and utterly adorable.

And in a weird twist of fate (or spooky paranormal coincidence if you’re me, a paranormal writer), Salem was born on the one year anniversary of Kimba’s death.

Almost like he picked her out for us. 🙂

me and salem

Salem and shoe

14 Responses

  1. Congratulations on the newest family member Judi. May Salem bring you oodles of good luck!

  2. Aww. She’s precious. Hubby’s brilliant for coming up with this idea 🙂

  3. What a sweetheart! I just wanna cuddle with her.

  4. Ooh, so cute, Judi! Congrats!

  5. Salem is adorable. Congratulations on your new addition.

  6. Aww, she’s utterly adorable, and what a great name!

  7. Judi, what a beauty! Your family’s gonna love her.

  8. Since I had nothing to eat to day but a milkshake, I was getting shaky so I’m up eating Dan’s famous scrambled eggs. Let’s just say mine are never as good. But it gave me a chance to look at my email. Well, some of it. Too tired and beat up to do much more than glance at it.

    Oh what a sweetheart, Judi! They’re so cute when they’re that tiny. Salem’s the perfect name for him. And yes grinning hurts, but worth it in this instance.

    You’ll have to post pics as he grows. 🙂

  9. My automatic, Pavlovian response – said out loud, to myself, of course. “Awww. New kitty?”

    Look at that sweetie! Makes me long for another one. Right up until I have to clean the boxes of the 3 I’ve already got and then, nope. I’m done. 🙂

    Congrats!!

  10. Judi, love the young cat. Hope she grows into her role as an important addition the family.

  11. Awwwww!!! What a sweetheart!

  12. Oh, she’s adorable! What a great addition to the family! Besides, all writers need a cat. It’s a rule.

  13. She’s really cute. When i was a kid, we had wonderfu black cat named Midnight. Salem is really good, too. Make sure you have good scratching posts right away and take her to them if she scratches on the rug or the sofa. By good, I partly mean tall. And cats really like carpet or rope posts.

  14. […] had my nose buried in my laptop working on the first genie book and needed a break. The kids were monitoring the new kitten, the dogs were napping and Hubs & Friend were playing chess with the Eagles’ Pre-Game […]

Leave a Reply

