This Little Mommy Stayed Home

SW Cover[1]Praise for Samantha Wilde:

“Here’s a talent: when a narrator’s doldrums make a reader laugh out loud. Samantha Wilde’s inkwell must be filled with truth-serum because this brave and funny book gets the postpartum peaks and valleys so very, winningly right.”

—Elinor Lipman, author of Then She Found Me

 

“Think of the funniest person you know, give her a baby and a month without sleep, multiply by ten and you’ve got the incomparable Samantha Wilde rocking the hilariously appalling realities of motherhood and the modern marriage. This book belongs on the bedside table of everyone who’s ever been a mother, or had one.”

Karen Karbo, author of The Stuff of Life and How to Hepburn

 

“[This] is the funniest novel I’ve read in a long, long time. What a treat! Mothers everywhere deserve this book.”

—Ellen Meister, author of The Smart One

 

“Samantha Wilde is the irreverent, knowing, laugh-out-loud, brutally honest but most treasured best friend that every new mommy craves and every reader relishes.  They should issue this smart, hilarious novel along with newborn onesies and nursing pads.”
—Pamela Redmond Satran, author of Babes in Captivity

 

“Riotously hilarious, unabashedly honest and positively impossible to put down. Samantha Wilde’s debut is a must read for all moms and non-moms alike.”

—Jessica Brody, author of The Fidelity Files

This summer, Samantha Wilde makes her literary debut with THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME, a fresh and funny novel about a new mother who discovers the wonders and terrors of motherhood—one hilarious crisis at a time. The book will be published as a Bantam Trade Paperback Original on June 23, 2009.

The novel introduces Joy McGuire who has gone from being skinny and able to speak in complete sentences to someone who hasn’t changed her sweatpants in weeks. But now with a new baby to care for, she feels like a woman on the brink and as she scrambles to recapture the person she used to be she takes another look at the woman she is: a stay-at-home mom in love with her son, if a bit addled about everything else. As a new mom herself, Wilde, a graduate of Yale Divinity School, wrote THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME after the birth of her son when she was experiencing the ups and downs of new motherhood. According to Wilde, “I wrote the book because I couldn’t not write it. I took my lap top to my bed during my son’s naps and wrote and wrote. I wrote the book I wanted to read. The book takes a hard look at the effects of new motherhood on a woman and on a marriage through the eyes of one stressed but insightful woman. It’s a story that will keep mothers going when they think they can’t go any further.”

With THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME, Samantha Wilde brings a candid and hilarious light to the universal story of new motherhood.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Samantha Wilde is the mother of two born in under two years. A graduate of Concord Academy, Smith College, Yale Divinity School and The New Seminary, she lives in Western Massachusetts with her husband and children. She is the daughter of novelist Nancy Thayer. When she’s not mothering her toddler and baby, she writes, teaches yoga, and moonlights as a minister. Although she never sleeps, she’s never once been tempted to give her children away to the highest bidder (well, almost never). She’s currently using nap times to write her second novel for Bantam Dell. You can visit her at wildemama.blogspot.com

THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME

by Samantha Wilde

A Bantam Trade Paperback Original

June 23, 2009/ 978-0-385-34266-7/ $12.00

Thanks, Sam, for taking time out of your busy Mommy schedule – I stayed at home, too. Still am at home, and, honestly, teens might need Mom around more than the younger ones!

So, are your children readers and have they become more so because you write? What do they think about what you do and the pursuit of your dream?

My babies, three and one, both love to read. My son, who can’t actually read, often “reads” to himself, making up stories. He treats books like special blankets. And the nice part is, even though he is so young, he can understand what it means that “mama wrote a book.” Meanwhile my daughter, at one, loves the cover. She’s crazy for pictures of babies.

When deadlines hit, what happens in your house?

I get more tired. The toilet bowl has to wait until late at night to be cleaned. I “stay-at-home” with my kids, so that’s my real job. If anything suffers during deadlines, it’s the house, which is not so tidy to begin with. No, that’s not true. It’s me who suffers. I won’t nap, and I’ll stay up later. I’ll forego a shower or a walk. So I guess I’m saying that I get stinky and fat. That doesn’t sound very good, does it?

If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing instead?

I’d teach yoga, which I do once a week anyway. And be with my kids more, though it hardly seems possible. Or maybe I’d just be lying in bed reading and eating chocolate. That would be nice. But then you didn’t mean if I wasn’t writing AND was wealthy, did you?

Have you given your favorite names to characters yet or are you waiting for that special character and book?

I’m saving my best names for my children.

Thanks so much for visiting, Sam!

Praise for Samantha Wilde:

“Here’s a talent: when a narrator’s doldrums make a reader laugh out loud. Samantha Wilde’s inkwell must be filled with truth-serum because this brave and funny book gets the postpartum peaks and valleys so very, winningly right.”

—Elinor Lipman, author of Then She Found Me

 

“Think of the funniest person you know, give her a baby and a month without sleep, multiply by ten and you’ve got the incomparable Samantha Wilde rocking the hilariously appalling realities of motherhood and the modern marriage. This book belongs on the bedside table of everyone who’s ever been a mother, or had one.”

Karen Karbo, author of The Stuff of Life and How to Hepburn

 

“[This] is the funniest novel I’ve read in a long, long time. What a treat! Mothers everywhere deserve this book.”

—Ellen Meister, author of The Smart One

 

“Samantha Wilde is the irreverent, knowing, laugh-out-loud, brutally honest but most treasured best friend that every new mommy craves and every reader relishes.  They should issue this smart, hilarious novel along with newborn onesies and nursing pads.”
—Pamela Redmond Satran, author of Babes in Captivity

 

“Riotously hilarious, unabashedly honest and positively impossible to put down. Samantha Wilde’s debut is a must read for all moms and non-moms alike.”

—Jessica Brody, author of The Fidelity Files

This summer, Samantha Wilde makes her literary debut with THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME, a fresh and funny novel about a new mother who discovers the wonders and terrors of motherhood—one hilarious crisis at a time. The book will be published as a Bantam Trade Paperback Original on June 23, 2009.

The novel introduces Joy McGuire who has gone from being skinny and able to speak in complete sentences to someone who hasn’t changed her sweatpants in weeks. But now with a new baby to care for, she feels like a woman on the brink and as she scrambles to recapture the person she used to be she takes another look at the woman she is: a stay-at-home mom in love with her son, if a bit addled about everything else. As a new mom herself, Wilde, a graduate of Yale Divinity School, wrote THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME after the birth of her son when she was experiencing the ups and downs of new motherhood. According to Wilde, “I wrote the book because I couldn’t not write it. I took my lap top to my bed during my son’s naps and wrote and wrote. I wrote the book I wanted to read. The book takes a hard look at the effects of new motherhood on a woman and on a marriage through the eyes of one stressed but insightful woman. It’s a story that will keep mothers going when they think they can’t go any further.”

With THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME, Samantha Wilde brings a candid and hilarious light to the universal story of new motherhood.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Samantha Wilde is the mother of two born in under two years. A graduate of Concord Academy, Smith College, Yale Divinity School and The New Seminary, she lives in Western Massachusetts with her husband and children. She is the daughter of novelist Nancy Thayer. When she’s not mothering her toddler and baby, she writes, teaches yoga, and moonlights as a minister. Although she never sleeps, she’s never once been tempted to give her children away to the highest bidder (well, almost never). She’s currently using nap times to write her second novel for Bantam Dell. You can visit her at wildemama.blogspot.com

THIS LITTLE MOMMY STAYED HOME

by Samantha Wilde

A Bantam Trade Paperback Original

June 23, 2009/ 978-0-385-34266-7/ $12.00

 

 

 

 

5 Responses

  1. Nice interview Judi and Sam.

    I appreciate the author who can turn everyday life into a story to laugh about. I never could, except in letters or my journal. But I do recognize the stay at home thing. I went from a high profile job smart clothes and shoes–who can wear those at home? with lots of kudos and personal satisfaction to diapers, spit rags, and sprayed squash, lol! I don’t regret it and I’m still basically a stay home mom and mine is 14.

    I’ll have to check this one out.

    Thanks, Judi!

  2. Truly the most under-appreciated and wonderful job out there, but motherhood is a doozy. I’m in denial, but the book sounds entertaining enough to make me break my moratorium.

    Sam the picture is absolutely adorable. I can see why your daughter is drawn to it. Thanks for the heads up Judi, another one that would have slipped through my fingers.

  3. What a delight to read. I would love this book. The author sounds like a hilarious person.

  4. […] This post was Twitted by NetMommy […]

  5. Thanks, Judi, for such a nice post! It’s fun to be blogged around.
    And I appreciate all the comments about motherhood. It’s amazing how essentially boring we think it is–and yet it’s the most profound work. (I’m so bleary-eyed I had to look up how to spell profound. Which is probably, somehow, profound.)
    Thanks again for having me!

Leave a Reply

