Conference Day 1

Yes, I got my pink FIRST SALE ribbon! Woo hoo! It feels goooooooooooood! I hope everyone gets to have this feeling and SOON!

Technically, it’s arrival day at the conference for general attendees, but chapter presidents and some special interest groups schedule meetings. I had a meeting with my agent, met the publicist for Sourcebooks and had an agency party to go to in between the presidents’ retreat (renamed Chapter Leadership Seminar, but that takes too long to type. Henceforth, I’m calling it Pres. Retreat).

me and my agent, Jennifer Schober of Spencerhill Associates

me and my agent, Jennifer Schober of Spencerhill Associates

It’s also the day of the Literacy signing; where all money raised from the sale of books (donated by the publishers) goes to charity. We should find out today or tomorrow how much we raised this year.
Jenny Gardiner, author of Sleeping With Ward Cleaver

Jenny Gardiner, author of Sleeping With Ward Cleaver

Michele Ann Young, another Sourcebooks author

Michele Ann Young, another Sourcebooks author

 

Robin Kaye, 2007 Golden Heart winner, Sourcebooks author, with her first book!

Robin Kaye, 2007 Golden Heart winner, Sourcebooks author, with her first book!

Robin didn’t know her books (ARCs) were going to be here and she’d never seen them before someone told her there was an author here with the same name. She went over and voila! her book!!! I still have the message on my cell phone where she’s screaming with happiness. That was a great moment to share with her!

 

Robin signing my copy!

Robin signing my copy!

The Beau Monde and Hearts Through History chapters have fun stuff going on – complete with a regency-set dance in the evening. I’m not a member, so I don’t have pictures of this fun event but my roommate always has a great time. They did, however, provide some fun for the rest of us with the Roman soldiers wandering the lobby. Gotta love that!

5 Responses

  1. Yay! Super congrats on your pink FIRST SALE ribbon! Awesome! (Your face must hurt from all that smiling you’re doing!)

    Very cool news about Robin’s ARC being available at the signing. I’m thrilled for her.

    Sounds like you are having a wonderful trip.

    Best–Adele Dubois

  2. Sounds like lots of fun activities, and how wonderful to be able to say “my agent”, “my publicist”, etc.!

  3. Oh, I missed this post. This is the nitty-gritty of the conference. I know you’re just soaking it all in. Do you where the ribbon every day? That’s cool.

  4. That’s wear.

  5. of course I do, Beth!!! I do stop short of sleeping with it, however. LOL

Leave a Reply

