The Call

Flowers from My Hero

Flowers from My Hero

 FIRST OFFICIAL: Call

Everyone always wants to know about The Call. The Call that says your dream is coming true.

Does The Email count? My editor couldn’t call me because she was in the editorial meeting, so she emailed.

I gasped. I squealed. I couldn’t breathe. I jumped out of my chair, ran into the family room, looked at my husband while my eyes filled up and I flapped my hands by my face to keep more air going in and just nodded.

That was my reaction to The Call/Email.

So, the next question usually is, what did I do to celebrate? It’s funny; I would’ve thought I would want to go out to dinner, get some champagne, call a zillion people…nope. The emotions are overwhelming. I had just read about someone else’s experience to her Call where she grabbed a book and took a bubble bath, and I remember thinking, “Really? The Call that changes your life and you go into hibernation?”

Yeah, well now I can relate. As a matter of fact, she handled it better than I did. I wish I’d had the energy to go upstairs and start the tub. Instead, I grabbed my current bedside read (which was in the family room) The Husband Trap by Tracy Anne Warren, and parked myself on the sofa, prone. For hours.

That was my big celebration. Oh, my husband did his wonderful thing for me, the kids congratulated me, my parents…but I just read.

Which, if you think about it, isn’t that odd. (Okay, maybe you have to reeeeeally think about it.) I’m a writer, about to be published. What better way to celebrate than with the very world I’ve wanted to be a part of for so long?

Thanks, Tracy, for giving me a fun book to celebrate with and thanks to all the other authors whose books I will eventually get to. Like getting into publishing, it was a lightning strike as to which one I’d be reading when I got The Call and would get a mention on my blog.

Maybe someday some other aspiring-to-publication author will be reading one of mine when he/she gets The Call.

14 Responses

  1. Judi, this is fabulous news! Your reaction sounds perfectly sane to me. I’ll let you know what mine is, should I ever get The Call. Congratulations!

  2. Yes, but you didn’t give us the important details: Publisher? Title? Release Date? Blurb???

    Inquiring minds want to know!

    🙂

  3. Heartfelt congratulations on “The Call” via Email. I wish you many sales! Wonderful post, Judi. Sometimes news is just too much to handle and we need to decompress.

    The only “Calls” I ever received were after winning places in wrtiting contests. Book sales came via Email. The first time, I watched television and then hubby and I went out to dinner. Too stunned by the thrill of the sale, I barely remember that night.

    I hope you enjoy every second of your publishing experience. Cheers!

    Best–Adele Dubois

  4. You know, given the choice, I think an email version of The Call is maybe the better way to go. That way when you ask yourself, “Did she really say what I thought she said?” you can look back at the mail and assure yourself, “Yup, this is for real.” And then frame the printed version.

    I have no idea what I’ll do when my Call comes. Probably just tremble for hours and giggle like an idiot.

    Congrats on getting The Call! It’s been a long time coming and you deserve it!!

  5. Judi,
    I am so happy for you! Go out and celebrate!
    Andi

  6. Judi,

    It’s about time you got around to making a comment here, lol! I looked for it yesterday and it wasn’t here.

    Congratulations, I’ve very happy for you. I can’t wait to see the book covers with your name on it. Then I can crow, I know her. Mahahahaha!

    I haven’t a clue how I’d react with The Call. But knowing me? Probably very much like you did. Grab a book and read. It lets your mind come to grips with what’s happened in a non threatening way. It has to sink in and feel real. You’ll want to go out and do the celebratory stuff later.

    For now? Bask in the glow of it all.

    Hugs.

    ~Sia~

  7. Thanks for stopping by, everyone, and all the well-wishes!

  8. Congrats, Judi! Nothing really beats getting THE CALL! It is an overwhelming feeling. I remember just feeling stunned, too stunned to really do or say much of anything. I was just so happy that I wanted to savor the moment by myself for a minute or two.

    Good luck with your books!

  9. Yay Judi!

    Congratulations! We all knew this was coming. Happy and thrilled to hear the good news. So when do I get a copy???

  10. Judi,
    I can’t believe you could concentrate enough to read. I just wondered around with a blank stare on my face. Every once in a while I’d say, “I sold a book!” and then go back into shock mode :0

    Congrats! Here’s hoping for a long, happy career with many sales!

    Cheryel

  11. Judi –

    I know I’m late, but I wanted to send my heartfelt congratulations! This is so well deserved! Who knows? I may be reading one of your books when I get the call/email, which would be totally appropriate, considering what a wonderful mentor you are to those of us just starting out! Congratulations!

  12. Congratulations! It makes sense that you would celebrate with a book. Aren’t printed words what what an author’s life is all about? And, truly, the call was inevitable.

    I won’t be surprised to see you on the bestseller lists.

  13. Judi, I’m sure you’ve noticed: the harder you work, the luckier you get. And you are the hardest-working lady I know. Keep it up and you’ll be Empress of the world. All hail!

  14. Judi,

    Many congrats. You’ve worked hard for this and I look forward to seeing your books in print.

Leave a Reply

