Happy New Year

Yes, I’ve been a bad girl. It’s been over a month since my last blog, but what a month! I’m, of course, talking about the holidays. Gift shopping, meal planning, wrapping, of course work, and round 3 of American Title. Promo is sooo much work. But, boy is it fun to read emails from people I’ve never met who’ve heard about me through this friend, or that co-worker, or that alumnus…The absolute best part of this contest is hearing from people who say they like my story. It makes it all worthwhile. I really hope to someday have this story published and get comments like that from readers who’ve read the whole thing!

 But I digress. (I do that, just like my heroine of Beauty and The Best, Jolie.) The holidays – this year I didn’t have much on my wish list, just my new website and a ticket to the RT conference in Houston in April, both of which I got. But the best present I got this year was the look on everyone’s faces when they opened their gifts. It truly is better to give than to receive. Let’s just say, with all the holiday hoopla and who wants what and the budget and all that stuff, I done good. I got several “best gifts ever!” and there was even the cry of “Judi saved Christmas!” (Long story, lost gift cards, arguing family members…it wasn’t pretty.)

One of our friends lost his father Christmas Eve – that really puts the whole gift-giving thing in perspective. Truly, you can’t take it with you and what really counts are the memories you make. Those last a lifetime. All cliche, but so true. I’m a firm believer that it’s a cliche for a reason – everyone says it/knows it/thinks it so it becomes part of the vernacular.

So we’re on to 2007. Another year older, but then, age is just a number. Not that it’s how young you feel (another cliche that I totally get), but that it’s another number you’re around to celebrate. I’m thankful for every day with my family, every day seeing the sun or the clouds, the damp or the snow. Every day to worry over bills because at least I can. There’s so much to do in my life that I like to think I’m only 1/3 of the way through it, though statistics show I’m probably closer to 1/2. But that’s okay, because I’m where I want to be in my life, happy with the choices I’ve made, my family, my chosen career path (but that could move a little more quickly to suit me 🙂 ), my friends and relationships. Even my part time job.

So I’m looking forward to 2007. Another writer friend said that this is “our” year. I hope. I really do. But if it’s not, that’s okay too, because I’m having such a blast writing these stories, getting the great feedback from readers and contest judges, and even editors and agents. The journey is half the fun of getting there.

 Thanks for sharing this journey with me! May 2007 bring you all you wish and keep you safe, happy and healthy!

 -Judi

Leave a Reply

