The World According to Judi

Wow, it’s been a while. I’m amazed at the folks who can blog every day. I can barely get myself organized every day. This working thing stinks. 🙂 Though I love my job – the guys are fun to work with. But writing, promo, blogging, physical therapy for the knee, house stuff, kids stuff, wife stuff, my stuff…I need more hours in the day. I just finished revisions on my time travel, Through The Leaded Glass, and man, what I wouldn’t give for my own time travel device. I used to do the train into the city thing BC (before children). Up early, shower, pack 1 lunch, drive myself to the train, spend 45 mins on the train, another five to ten getting to the office and I’d be majorly productive by 8 am. Now, I’m lucky to have most of the kids off to school, myself dressed, the hours I need to work in and lunches done. Thank goodness the DH is self-sufficient in the lunch department.

 How do you people who work full time and run a house and have kids find time to write? Heck, how do you people who work full time find time to do anything for yourself? My hat’s off to you.

 I have a friend who’s a single mom, works two jobs and is going to school. I don’t know how she does it. And her kid is well-adjusted. There’s a lot of love between the two of them, but honestly, I don’t know how she doesn’t collapse and call in sick for like a month. (Not that I advocate doing that, mind you, but talk about burning the candle at both ends!)

I guess the old adage is true – you do what you have to. But she, and others like her, have my full admiration. I “single parent” it every few weeks when the DH is travelling. It’s not bad with all the activities, but I have help. Grandparents are a good thing! Plus, there’s an end in sight. It can be done for a finite number of nights. With help. These folks who do it all alone, day in and day out, deserve medals of honor. Big, fat paychecks. The limelight. (Unlike some party-hopping heiresses who worry about which sparkly collar to put on their pet, but that’s another rant.)

Sometimes all the “to-do stuff” stresses me out about not having time to write is petty. And I probably shouldn’t even consider it stressful b/c, really, just don’t do it. Right? Well, yes, in a way, I guess. But then I think about it being my dream. My passion. What I want to be when I grow up. Then I say, “I’m allowed to stress out.” I want to do this for myself. I want to do it to show my kids that you can make your dreams come true, and, yes, most of the time, it’s through hard work and perserverance. It’s about making time for your dreams, but not taking time away from what’s important.

It’s funny, but reading what I just wrote, I realize that I do “time-travel.” I expand my limited hours to include what’s important to me, our family, our lives, work – and me. Kind of like each time you have a new baby. Your heart expands to include it without taking away from the others.

And on that thought, I’ll call it a night. It’s time for the “sleep” stuff.

Have a good Wednesday!

One Response

  1. How do you people who work full time and run a house and have kids find time to write?

    I’m supposed to run the house? I am in SUCH big trouble! 😀 No seriously, the house is a disaster, the laundry’s never done, and the bills are always paid late, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned this year it’s that if I don’t take care of myself, I can’t take care of the kids. And as long as I get my two free weekends a month I’m good. I’ve also had to crack down on the kids about my writing time (If Mom misses her deadline she’s in BIG TROUBLE), I even threw #1 out of his bedroom yesterday so I could go be alone to write.

Leave a Reply

