T Minus 4 and Counting

Well, it’s all set to begin on Monday, October 16. We, the finalists, have been told the “go live” date for announcing us online is that day, the day the voting begins. I have to admit to excited jittery butterflies in my stomach. It’s one thing to show your story to your critique partners. It’s another to submit it to contests, then editors and agents.

But now, before we’ve gotten a contract (if even), we’re putting it out there for the general public. Talk about scary. Talk about exciting. Talk about nerve-wracking. I mean, this is my baby. It’s the story that wouldn’t stop. The characters who wouldn’t stop talking [vote me through to the dialogue scene and you’ll understand what I mean 🙂 ] It’s the story I love, that I had to write, that spoke to me at 5 am on SuperBowl Sunday, 2005 (Jolie spit out the first 20 pages in under 2 minutes and I ended up with writer’s cramp trying to get it all in my flip notebook I keep by my bed for these types of emergencies. Oh, big shout out “Thank You!” to Anna DeStefano for giving those notebooks away one year. It’s got at least 5 of my stories’ beginnings in it.)

Anyway, where was I? Oh, yes, the nerves. The uncertainty. Will anyone admit to sheer panic? I mean, we’ve got a “Simon, Randy and Paula” looking at these entries and commenting on them. And then the public…  I voted in the first two American Titles. I loved reading the entries. I commiserated with the authors as they said their goodbyes, then celebrated when some of them then sold. I was thrilled for the winners when they were announced. I mean, how cool was that? Their manuscript became a book.

And now it’s my turn. Wow.

That about sums it up. Wow.

I now understand the Academy Award nominees who say, “It’s an honor just to be nominated.” It is. An honor and amazing and Wow. These folks I’m grouped with are one talented bunch and the public is going to get one terrific book when it’s all over and done with. Maybe more than one, who knows?

To my fellow finalists, I say, “best of luck and enjoy the ride.” To the voting public I say, “Enjoy the entries.” 

Oh, well that and “Vote for Beauty and The Best.”

Have a nice Thursday.  🙂

2 Responses

  1. Hi Judi, one more day and we can vote! Yay!

    GOOD LUCK!

    Thank you so much for the beautiful T-shirt that I won by signing for your newsletter.

    Ivka

  2. Thanks, Ivka! And I’m glad you liked the tshirt. Check my website under Contest for the next go-round! And don’t forget to tell all your friends about voting for Beauty and The Best tomorrow! -Judi

Leave a Reply

