“Sight”seeing in San Fran

The Naked Cowboy

The Naked Cowboy

’nuff said.

He said he’s the guy from NYC and did have a cameraman behind him (not touching THAT comment…) He doesn’t have a hat out for dollars, there were no dollars, ahem, on him, so I don’t get it. Add in the fact that he sings the same song over and over, something along the lines of “You gotta do what you gotta do” but don’t quote me, because, really, I was laughing too hard to pay attention. I will say, he’s in good shape, but the white undies? I’m just going to go with “huh?”

Other sights included Lombard Street, via cablecar and then I walked down it since I couldn’t 2 years ago when I was here due to the torn ACL. One good thing about San Fran (okay, there are many good things about it) are the unique houses. I love to take pictures of them. Beats the same old cookie-cutter ones you see pretty much everywhere else.

Lombard Street, the crookedest street in the world

Lombard Street, the crookedest street in the worldWalking down Lombard Street

Colorful house on Lombard

Colorful house on Lombard

cablecar turnaround

cablecar turnaround

There were other street performers; one guy covered himself in tree branches and jumped out from behind them down at the Wharf. Scared quite a few folks. One guy dressed as a cat. Again, ??? A few people with signs and microphones proclaiming the end of the world. Reminded me of Bro Cope in State College back in the 80s. Apparently the world’s been coming to an end for a while now.

Lots of exercise, lots of sights, lots of cool things to see and do here. I highly recommend a trip. Even with The Naked Cowboy sighting…

13 Responses

  1. Judi, these pictures brought back so many memories. I have always loved the Bougainvillea and Clematis on the houses on Lombard and other parts of the City. Sometimes coming up from the Golden Gate Bridge when the fog was still thick in the morning, the flowers were the only bright spots of color in a wispy gray morning.

    Then walking down Market or through the Castro District. Always plenty to see and much more colorful than your um, naked cowboy.

    Sounds like you’re having a good time. You’re going to be tired tonight. That’s a lot of City to walk.

    Looking forward to your next report, ma’am.

  2. Sounds like the fun never ends! Keep the stories coming, can’t wait to hear about the conference!

  3. You seem to be having a wonderful time. Loved your pics! Have a great conference!

    Best–Adele Dubois

  4. Great pictures! Looks like you’re having a good time.

  5. Excellent pix, Judi.

    I hope the weather is holding up for you there on the wrong side of the Bay.

  6. I’ve never been to San Fran, so please keep up the reports.

    When does the conference start? I’m looking forward to those reports as well.

    Naked cowboy? I guess some folks never get over feeling that they should be the center of attention.

  7. Naked cowboys..yep that’s the San Francisco I remember. Love that place.

    Thanks for keeping us in the loop and hope your arm is better.

  8. Sigh…and I came back to LA…why, again?

  9. Judi,

    Thought I’d give you the news about “The Naked Cowboy” who is quite the traveler. Believe it or not, he is better known in NYC for singing in the same manner in Times Square.

    “Robert Burck,
    known as the Naked Cowboy for playing a guitar in New York’s
    Times Square in his underwear and a cowboy hat, was taken
    into police custody Friday in San Francisco.” This according to The New York Post.

    Considering the temps in San Francisco, he’s a brave soul. There have been times in SF when I wouldn’t have gone sleeveless, much less be in undies…

  10. Well, he may have been taken into custody on Friday, but he was out and having a good time on Sunday…

    John, the weather: 50s. Normally I wouldn’t mind it, but when I packed, it had said 70s. So, I bought myself a nice San Fran hoodie.

    Beth – conference starts on Wednesday. People had started arriving yesterday, so I’ve seen some of my friends and had a glass of champagne bought for me :)

  11. Great picture, Judi!

    Sounds like you’re having fun.

    Susan

  12. VEry nice pictures, Ms. J!

    And are we gonna get to see you again before you leave?!

  13. Love the flowers growing on that house, Judi. Gorgeous!

    Naked cowboy…. not so much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.